top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTravelWithAmz

What to Expect from Summer Camp!

Hey guys!

I’m back and figured I’d make another blog post – this time on what to expect from summer camp. For first time counsellors, it will probably be a little nerve wracking going into a completely different environment for the first time. IT’S OKAY TO BE NERVOUS! I’m here to help you settle these nerves. So grab a snack and enjoy this little read!

Culture Shock:

Culture shock is a real thing and it happens to many of us counsellors at the start of summer. It is different from our usual set up at home – I mean we are in the middle of the woods! It’s ok to be apprehensive when you first step out of the car and onto camp, it is a major change.


Here are the best tips I have for getting over the initial culture shock:

· Explore camp – the more you get to know your surroundings, the more comfortable and confident you'll start to feel.

· Appreciate the beauty – you are literally in the middle of nature. It is amazing, it is beautiful and it is a place that lets you get away from it all, so just appreciate the surroundings.

· Be open to the experience – this is a once in a lifetime opportunity (3 time opportunity for me but shh), so just forget about the fact that it is so different to what you know, and allow yourself to remember what you’re there for.


These tips will hopefully allow you to settle into your new environment and enjoy the time you have there.














Telling fibs: Now, I for one, am not condoning that we tell lies. However, if a small child asks me why I sound like Merida from Brave, then I may or may not tell them it is because I am in fact Merida.

This happened to me in summer ’17, one day I was taking my campers to the archery range (so ironic), and we were chatting and having a laugh, the usual. One of the campers then turned around and said “oh my goodness, Merida is Scottish, and you sound EXACTLY like her, so does that mean that you are HER?” – Now, in that moment, I could have told her the truth and said no, but where’s the fun in that?! We were going to THE ARCHERY RANGE!!!

These little fibs are always fun to take to camp with you – the kids really love it when you tell them things like this, especially if like mine, it was semi believable because of my accent.


SONGS, SONGS AND MORE SONGS:

No matter how tone death you think you are, I can guarantee at camp you will be BELTING out all of the songs you learn. In fact, you won’t just be belting them out at camp, you will be belting them out FOREVER.


At camp, you will be singing 24/7, no exaggeration!

7:30am – Alive, Alert, Awake, Enthusiastic - Stand outside your cabins SCREAMING this with your co-counsellors to wake up the campers! (The campers might hate you for a whole 10 mins, but it’s worth it)


Walking to and from activities: - I can bet you’ll be singing lots of repeat after me songs like “Little Red Wagon” as you move from one area of camp to the next!


Before mealtimes: - At my camp, before mealtimes we always have the campers and counsellors sing outside whilst the dining hall is being set up. We go through maybe about 6 different songs and everyone gets really into it. This way it makes the atmosphere at mealtime so much more fun.


At Campfire: - Campfire is the most important time for song time. At opening campfire we get everyone pumped for the week ahead with our most fun and upbeat songs like “Rattling Bog”. It sets up a real great fun environment and atmosphere for everyone to be in. At closing campfire, we sing our quiet, reflective songs that let us close the week and remind us of all the happy memories we have shared together.


So, my advice, start visiting a vocal coach now, because that mouth of yours is ALWAYS going to be singing a camp tune or two!


A lot of FUN:

F is for friends who do stuff together U is for u and me N is anywhere and everywhere at all


SpongeBob got that right! Camp is about making new friends who do lots of fun stuff together – whether that be horseback riding, playing a huge game of counsellor hunt or riding the slip n slide with your camp besties, you will always be there together making fun new memories!


Camp has LOTS of different activities for you to take part in, and my advice would be to DO EVERYTHING! Take risks, push boundaries and do things you never through you would! Camp is an amazing support system and everyone is rooting you on – so take that leap of faith on the zip line or jump in the pool fully clothed, as long as you’re having fun then nothing else matters!









At the beginning, I was super scared of the high ropes course - but my friends were so supportive, amazing and helped me at every step of the way.

Look at me in my little yellow top THRIVING on the ledge whilst my good friend Moose looks out from the viewing spot to make sure I'm good! Friends supporting friends thriving at camp :)!










Lifelong Friendships!

Camp is a magical place, where a lot of magical things happen, but the most magical thing of all is making friends you will cherish for a lifetime!

Summer ’17 – we had a small staff of about 30 people, so as a result of this everyone at our camp became super close. It was one of the best experiences in the world being able to have so many people love and appreciate you at once. Two years have passed and our staff group chat is still going STRONG – and when we all get together for camp meetups it’s like we never left!

Summer ’18 – we had a larger staff number, but it was the same again. Everyone loved and appreciated each other and we are still going strong in meeting up, chatting every day and updating each other on our lives.

Camp friendships are the best kind of friendships!






Thanks for tuning into my - What to Expect from Camp post – I hope this helps settle some nerves you may be feeling going into camp for the first time! This post was so much fun to write, I love remembering things that happen at camp and getting to speak and write about them.

As always, if there is anything you want me to write about then please throw a suggestion in the comments and I’ll get right to it.


Follow my social media to get other updates on my time away: Insta – amyemdavis Twitter – amzdavisx


How long until you all head to camp? I’m on my 17 day countdown!!! MAJOR EXCITEMENT TO RETURN TO MY FAVE PLACE IN THE WOODS.

As always, I hope you have an amazing, fun and fresh summer.


xo Amz

142 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page